skip to main content

What Cypress is All About

about 1 year ago


Cypress Charter High School strives to create an academically rigorous learning, which encourages students to be communicative, literate, involved, and socially responsible individuals. We offer an A-G approved curriculum that allows students the opportunity to advance to college or university programs.  Cypress seeks to provide a safe student-centered community in which every student can see and be seen.

Contact Our Staff

4 months ago

By Maria Parrish




We want to hear from you....








Main Office:
831.477.0302 (phone)

Address:           ---------------------->   Map Link

2039 Merrill Street
Santa Cruz, CA 95062
Office Staff
Megan Tresham , (Principal) Ext. 255 mtresham@losd.ca
Rachel Star, (Counselor) Ext. 252 rstar@losd.ca
Maria Parrish, (Registrar / Office Manager) Ext. 254 mparrish@losd.ca
Lisa Valiante, (Attendance) Ext. 250 lvaliante@losd.ca
Teaching Staff:
Aaron Clegg, Physics, aclegg@losd.ca
Dana Cooper, Math, dcooper@losd.ca  Website Link
Kris Hill, Resource, khill@losd.ca
Emily Merrifield, Science, emerrifield@losd.ca  Website Link
Shelly Mort, Art, rmort@losd.ca  Website Link
Valerie Neer, Math, vneer@losd.ca
Jenn Nicholson, jnicholson@losd.ca   Website Link
Kai Parker, Spanish, kparker@losd.ca
Travis Parker, Social Studies, tparker@losd.ca
Lara Rankin, English, lrankin@losd.ca
Lindsey Smith, Social Studies, lsmith@losd.ca
Jordan Webb, Spanish, jwebb@losd.ca
984-1 Bostwick Lane
Santa Cruz, CA  95062

FAQ's

4 months ago





Frequently Asked Questions


                                                                          

What is type of school is Cypress Charter High School?

We are a small comprehensive high school with an A-G curriculum.


Why would a student want to attend this school?

Our biggest draw is our size.  Small is good when it comes to learning communities, where the staff has the luxury of getting to know all students as individuals, not just test-takers and consumers of information.

What types of students go here?


Students who value their education and know that there is no substitute for caring, concerned adults who take them seriously as they prepare for higher education or the working world.

How big is the school?


Currently, 160 students.

What are the enrollment boundaries?


As a charter, Cypress is open to high school-age students in Santa Cruz County, depending on available space.  Inter-district transfers are not required.

Is Cypress accredited?


Yes. We currently have Western Association of Schools and Colleges (WASC) accreditation through June 30, 2019.

What is Cypress’ funding source?


Most of our funding comes from the State of California’s Charter School Block Grant.As an indirect funded charter school, our funds are funneled to us via the Live Oak School District, which supports us in a variety of administrative functions.

What do you expect from parents?


Commitment to their children, primarily.  Active participation in a variety of Parent Association meetings is appreciated.